Are Anti-Depressants A Good Idea?

We’re told here in NZ that if we’re concerned about our own mental health, our first port of call is our local GP. Now, usually, the local GP’s first (often only) suggestion is anti-depressants.

I have nothing against antidepressants. If I did, I’d be a bloody great hypocrite because I’ve been taking them for most of my life. And I can’t imagine that I’m going to come off them anytime soon either.

But. They’re not the only option. For some people, the idea of taking these tablets is horrifying. And I can’t lie, I used to be one of those people. But I eventually made my peace with them when I realized that if taking these pills every day is going to keep me from plunging down into the abyss, I’ll take them with thanks.

But I won’t rely only on antidepressants to keep me well.

When I work with my Depression Musers, I don’t tell them whether they should or shouldn’t take their medication. I’m not a Doctor and it’s none of my business. I won’t tell my Depression Muser’s to do anything, in fact.

I’m a firm believer that people, no matter what diagnosis or label they’re carrying, are always capable of making their own decisions. Yes, even the so-called “mentally ill.”

The work I do with my Depression Musers has a specific purpose. It’s to empower those that feel disempowered, to introduce people to a community that “get it” who are open-minded and willing to try alternative therapies. People who are actively working on taking control of the demon Depression and turning it into a creature of fucking beauty (CFB).

That’s another thing I don’t do. I don’t tell people what their CFB should be. Again, that’s your decision, it comes from your brain and your heart. It can be anything from knitting a scarf to creating a giant sculpture. It’s not about what it is, it’s about the emotion that’s been put into it.

When you’ve lost years of your life or even moments of your life to the demon Depression, you feel a whole lot of things about the demon. Anger’s usually in there somewhere, along with frustration, sadness, guilt, everybody’s friend “shame,” and just good old-fashioned resentment.

All are okay. All are natural and a relevant response. It’s okay to feel them. In fact, it’s necessary to feel all of those things if you intend to move past the current stuckness of being at the bottom of the depression abyss.

The trick is to keep the feelings manageable. Often easier said than done but I have some excellent resources for that. Please feel free to contact me if you’d like to know more.

--

--

Fiona Tate - The Depression Muse

Tarot Alchemist, Writer & Depression Slayer. My readings help you turn the demon Depression into a Creature of F&*king Beauty http://countessdrusillasteele.com